You can’t always get what you want…

…You get what you need.  It’s an old Rolling Stone’s song that I often refer to in life’s interactions.  I find it applicable to many of  my own personal adventures.

For instance, the other night at dinner with friends, someone stated that he had prayed quite a few times  and yet never got an answer.  I let it go for a few minutes and then backed up in the conversation and observed that he had gotten an answer.  It just wasn’t the one he wanted or  expected.  I then went on to quote the song, “You can’t always get what you want…..” and everyone finished the line for me by singing out loud in unison.  We all laughed because each of us recognized the truth contained within the quote.  I’d even go so far as to say that each of us recognized where it had played out in our individuals lives.

As for me, I’ve learned that sometimes the answers to our prayers and mediations don’t come to us as we would like.  Sometimes, we don’t get the answers we want.  Sometimes the answers appear as inconvenient messages and they are the answers we need. Sometimes we resist these answers.  And yet they are for our benefit so that we can get out of our own way and grow.  I’ve come to learn that life is not about living in a box and being comfortable.  It’s about growth and expansion. When you get “what you need” you have an opportunity to grow beyond your self-imposed limitations and become who you really are.

Yet, here I am lecturing when in reality I can really only speak about my experience.  The truth is, I don’t always like the answers I get either.   Sometimes it takes a little longer for the message to sink in and for me to accept that this is what is so.  And what I have found is that when I take it in and really hang with it I benefit and grow.  It’s all perfect, this life.

Question to ask and ponder: When it comes to life’s questions, have you been open to the answers you’ve received?  Or have you resisted the answers and turned away only to find yourself addressing the questions again at another time? If you find that you’ve done this, it’s okay — you’re in good company. And knowing this now, what are some ways that you can begin to address the answers you receive, especially the ones that aren’t expected?  What would work for you?  Consider this for yourself.

Leave a Reply

