One foot in front of the other

If I’ve learned anything in life it is to take life one step at a time and put one foot in front of the other.  This may sound cliche-ish but you have to admit, it is a useful cliche.  I can honestly state that this has become a mantra of sorts for me.  (Just ask any of my friends, family or work colleagues.)

Telling myself to “take it one step at a time and put one foot in front of the other” helps me to stay in the present moment with whatever it is I am working on or playing at.  For example, as I’ve been preparing to launch this business there have been many steps to take and decisions to be made.  At first I was a little perplexed of where to begin.  I knew I wanted to do it right and be true to me.  By breaking down the “to do” list and viewing it from a “one foot in front of the other” perspective I’ve been able to hear the right choices that are just waiting to be discovered. This way of functioning has allowed me to focus on what needs to happen next, keeping me from getting in my way.

That’s the power of it:  staying out of your own way.  Whether you are starting a new business like I did or trying to be a healthier you, getting out of your own way by putting one foot in front of the other keeps you in the present moment.  It allows you to hear the truth that is within you.

In my experience, when I listen to the truth within and stay in the present moment with what is occurring, the answers appear naturally.  It’s kind of like magic!  It feels right and it feels good.  That’s how the idea for Balance Point came into being….by listening, taking it one step at a time and getting out of my way.

How can you apply this principle now in your life?  Whatever is occurring for you now, whatever you are considering, wondering about, worrying about,  just stop.  In this moment, in this stop – listen.  Breathe into this moment.  Relax and let go into the listening.  There’s nothing you have to do.  There’s nowhere you have to go.  Allow what is here for you to come through, naturally in its own time. Let it cook.  If thoughts come up to distract you, just let them be as they are and remain here in this moment as you step aside and get out of your way.  Now watch what is here for you.  Enjoy the moment.  Michele Bordelon

One thought on “One foot in front of the other

Leave a Reply

