Finding completion in your life

True confession:  Up until 16 years ago, I spent most of my life skipping from one adventure to another without a purposeful focus; just doing what came up to do or whatever seemed interesting.  I’m not saying this is a bad thing however something always felt incomplete.  I really couldn’t put my finger on it;  it never occurred to me that I even had a choice to determine and complete it.

My life went on this way until 16 years ago and then I had a “wake-up call.”  One of my favorite writers, Anne Lamott, describes it best:  “First God tickles you with a feather; then he throws a brick at your head.”  God, the Universe, the Source – whatever you want to call “It” – got my attention, truly,  for the first time. When my husband was seriously injured in a near-fatal automobile accident, it was as though some invisible force grabbed me by the shoulders and said, “Okay Michele, time to get on with what you are here to do – no more messin’ around.”  This is when I learned about the power of completion and for the past 16 years, I have taken on the task of completing areas in my life that were either unfulfilled or I had avoided completing.

Apparently, the road I traveled to get here was necessary for me, but it needn’t be this way for you.  It is simply a matter of looking and being open.  If you are into completion in your life and discovering your true purpose then I have a simple exercise for you, one that I referred to in an earlier post.  You’ll need a pen and paper.  Now, simply follow these steps:

  • Do you feel your life has focus?  Yes or No.
  • If No, then what is it that feels “unfocused” or what areas of your life feel incomplete?  List out everything that feels incomplete or unfulfilled.
  • Now, look at your list – if you could do one thing or complete one thing on this list, what would it be?  Circle it now.  There may be “I can’t do this or this will never happen” thoughts coming up but that’s okay.  Just focus on what you want, not on what you don’t want.
  • Next, sit quietly, close your eyes and ask yourself, “how would it feel right now if this were already complete, totally finished?”  Allow the answer to come up as a feeling in your body.  Try not to describe it in your head…simply feel what it would feel like.  This is the feeling of completion.
  • Write down a description of this feeling of completion.  (It may appear as a picture in your mind.)

Revisit this feeling of completion often.  The best time to do this is at night before you go to sleep.  Simply feel how it would feel if it were already complete, totally finished and then fall asleep in this feeling.  Stay with this process and over time the steps you should take will come to you quite naturally.   Contact me with any questions about this process.  I’m looking forward to be with you in your completion.

Leave a Reply

