Laughter’s Balancing Act

You may have heard it said, “He who laughs at himself will never cease to be amused.” It’s true. I find that I probably laugh at something I say or do everyday. It feels good and keeps me from taking life and me too serious.

The truth is – I like to laugh. For me laughter is a neutralizing force. It takes me out of whatever “place of limitation” I may happen to slip into. It can act as a release valve for pent up angst and worry. It brings me back to the present moment because it allows me to see the truth and sometimes absurdity of a situation or action and snaps me back to a clear balanced “place”. Laughing also reroutes me to the current of acceptance that runs through my life.

In that sense, laughter is humbling. What I’ve discovered is that the power of laughter rests not in denial of feelings (although this can be a result) but in its power to reveal what is truly important to me in my life. It connects me to the happiness that is the current of living energy that resides within me.

In that regard, you could say the act of laughing and its cleansing power is no laughing matter. It’s truly a powerful balancing force that aids me in keeping life light.

Have you had your dose of laughter for today? If not check out this classic music video Make ‘Em Laugh

Leave a Reply

