2014 – A Year in Review (just for kicks)

IMG_2747Belated Happy New Year!  I did this last year and am doing it once again.  Throughout 2014, I kept a jar on our kitchen counter labeled “2014 Happy Events”.  Every time something special, fun or celebratory occurred I documented it on a slip of paper (kinda like a “Tweet” but not) and put in the jar.  It was fun and reminded me about the good things in my life.  This is a good thing for like many of us (at least in my recent conversations with friends) 2014 was a rough year – it had its bitter-sweet moments, wonderful occurrences and a good dose of happenings that made me just want to crawl in a corner and pull a blanket over me. 😉

Humorously, to cap it all off, on Tuesday, December 30th, a huge flock of robins found our back yard which we’ve set up as a haven for our feathered friends.  I remember standing at the kitchen window watching as they energetically ate to their fill, flew around and then happily made their exit. Shortly afterwards, I walked out to get in my car and found it covered in bird poop. Completely. My husband’s car, on the other hand, was spotless.  Not a drop of bird poop. I was, as they say, taken aback. And after several expletives escaped my mouth, I carefully considered how to interpret this final gift of 2014. It was then that I decided to see this as just the odd end to a happy, sweet, sad, interesting and eventful year. I could have seen it as a forewarning but chose not to go there. And I’m happy to report that thus far – 2015 is a very good year. So here’s my year in review via my “2014 Happy Events” jar:

  • Began new jar by reading and appreciating 2013’s happy events. Starting my 2014 jar!
  • Really good time, at annual oyster roast, despite the frigid temps.  Thank goodness for fire pits!
  • Working a cool “gig” with Caroline – fun! We are good together.
  • Epic “girls night” – no more will be said.
  • Great monthly dinners with Rutledge’s and Jenison’s this spring & early summer. Stoley’s will never be the same.
  • Dent repaired in my car
  • Many house repairs completed
  • All flowerbeds mulched and new hydrangeas bushes planted
  • Great time with Theresa & Mark pre-wedding – they helped get the house ready for the wedding.  Wow – so wonderful.
  • Taylor and Kitty’s beautiful wedding #1 at our home on Sat. 05.31.14.  Max & Ben were the ring bearers.
  • Epic (for a variety of reasons) second wedding ceremony on the beach and celebration at Hatteras
  • First vacation in years spent at Cape Hatteras May 31st – June 6th – happy birthday to me!!!
  • My job was funded for three more years – WOO HOO! I love you Carolyn Rutledge!
  • Even though it was for bittersweet reasons, I got to spend beautiful time with  my brother Marc the week that Mother passed.  I love him so.
  • Sweet and special weekend with my sister Marcia in Ruston, LA for Mother’s final “send off.”  She’s the best big sister ever…
  • ODU played great in 1st year in C-USA (football); 6 – 6 record.  Go BIG BLUE!
  • We had another fun year of weekly (well, almost) Thursday night dinners with Jack & Susan.  Cut short for a variety of reasons but we can’t wait to get back into our Thursday night flow in the next few weeks.
  • Fun and “cold” – brrrr – Thanksgiving with Taylor & Kitty in Chicago.  They cooked. It was awesome!  I love Chicago and I love AirBnB!
  • 12.23.14 – Fun and festive cookie decorating contest (aka: reason for a party) held by Taylor & Kitty at our house.  It was great to visit with friends and “kids” we hadn’t seen in a while. Cookies were homemade and delish!  But the best thing was the company.
  • A lovely Christmas brunch with the Geroe family and then a true family dinner at Shannon and Norm’s. It was so nice to experience the expansion of our family and enjoy it 100%!
  • Lovely and delicious New Year’s Eve dinner with Susan & Jack, Susan’s mom and our friend Nancy.  We were home by 11:30 and I was able to meditate in the New Year.  Thanks for driving, Jack!  You are our own personal “Uber” 😉
  • Pet harmony achieved – finally! All is good.

 

Well that about wraps it up.  I’m starting the new “2015 Happy Events” jar tonight and looking forward to what this year brings.  As I already mentioned, it is already a good one.  But … I’m not going to tell you why or how – that would spoil my next “Year in Review” blog post!  I wish you the very best 2015.  Keep smiling my friends.

PS – Here’s a pictorial review:

10365965_10152186926853807_4990773742682056019_n  Brothers of different mothers  IMG_247910476165_10152216238406232_3270623571906263615_nIMG_2483

Taylor and Mother copy

IMG_2525 IMG_2522 IMG_2539IMG_2541IMG_2536Thanksgiving visit copyFather and son copyThe girlsChristmas Party Poodle copyThe winner! copySusan & Michele do New Years 2014 copyPet harmony achieved copy

4 thoughts on “2014 – A Year in Review (just for kicks)

  1. Theresa says:

    Michele, so creative. Loved reading your 2014 Happy Events and even better that I can now put a face to the wonderful friends you mention. Great memories, great pictures – 2015 a New Year…keep it up! You are the Greatest! Love Ya Thres

Leave a Reply

